All the Lonely People

View from the main walking trail along the perimeter of Seward Park, Seattle.

The dark, short, and often wet days of Seattle’s autumn have fooled me, many times, into thinking it was already winter, even though the official transition is still a few days away. It has been cold and cloudy for the better part of a month, and I have been holed up inside my apartment Monday through Friday as I work from home and continue to quarantine for the ninth straight month. The promise of the weekend sometimes seems like the only thing keeping me sane as I trudge my way through oscillating weekday stress and banality.

Even before the weather turned, my experience was similar. I have picked up more and more climbing disciplines over the past nine months as I have been driven increasingly outdoors for all of my recreation, from traditional climbing to ice climbing to mountaineering. With the turn of the weather, it has become more challenging to engage in most of these pursuits, and I have shifted gears again.

I have now been returning to (avalanche-safe) winter hiking, sometimes with an ice axe or ice tool. In the past two weeks, I have also attempted cross-country skiing over thin snow and ice, and I’m eagerly awaiting this week’s snow dump to improve conditions for skiing. I even purchased a season pass for downhill skiing, which feels incredibly scary as someone who can count on one hand the number of times I’ve downhill skied.

It has been a cold November and a cold December, and I’m just doing my best to make the most of it.

Sophie’s got the right winter attitude.

3 thoughts on “All the Lonely People

  1. Hang in there. I keep telling my own kids that we just have to get through this dark period for a few more months until the spring equinox in March when the weather will turn again, and with vaccines for healthcare workers and the elderly by then, there will be less demand of ICU beds, more opportunities to get outside without layers upon layers of snow and rain gear, sunny skies, and better times. Take care of yourself, physically and mentally. We will have lots to celebrate in 2021! In the meantime, have fun on the slopes!

    Like

  2. Hang in there. I keep telling my kids we just need to get through the next few cold, dark months until the spring equinox in March when the weather will turn, healthcare workers and elderly will be vaccinated reducing the demand for ICU beds, and we’ll be able to start enjoying the outdoors without layers upon layers of snow and rain gear. Until then, enjoy the slopes and take care of yourself, mentally and physically. We’ll have lots to celebrate in 2021!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started